Birthday Surprise Part 2: Cake Batter Pancakes…With Sprinkles!

Ooooh!  Two posts in one week?  What is this madness?

Yes, dear reader, I didn’t want to overshadow my cookie dough cupcake post, so I decided to put this recipe into another post.

You see, my mother (bless her heart) thought that she would have the kitchen all to herself to make a very special surprise breakfast for Jillian and I for our 17th birthday.  However, I had plans of my own to wake up really early and bake, too…

We ended up having a mother-daughter morning in the kitchen.  Mom was busy making these incredible pancakes for breakfast and then we had my cupcakes for dessert during the Superbowl Game.

No matter how you like your pancakes, fluffy and small or big and thin, you can’t go wrong with these cake batter pancakes!

Now this is what every breakfast should be like

What is it about sprinkles that just makes everything so much more festive and fun?

And, like all celebrations, everything is better with, you guessed it, sprinkles.  Another acceptable answer would be sparkly shoes, as my inner child would say.

As simple as it is delicious the secret ingredient to making these pancakes is…yellow cake mix.  Something that my mom taught me:  you should always have a good yellow cake mix in your kitchen.  You would be surprised with how many recipes call for it!

This is what every breakfast should be like!

This is what every breakfast should be like!

I’m keeping this post short since I already did my big birthday post.  Go treat yourself and have an awesome breakfast like you should!

Cake Batter Pancakes with Sprinkles

Original Recipe from How Sweet Eats

Yields 12 medium sized pancakes or 24 little pancakes

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

2/3 cup yellow cake mix

1 tablespoon sugar

3/4 teaspoon baking powder

pinch of salt

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 – 2 cups milk

assorted rainbow sprinkles

Directions

Combine flour, cake mix, baking powder, sugar and salt in a bowl and mix.

Add 1 cup of milk, egg and vanilla extract and stir until smooth. You want the batter to look like regular pancake batter; not too thin, not too thick. This will vary greatly on the brand of cake mix you use. Start with 1 cup of milk and add more if needed. I suggest a small taste test as well to see if the pancakes are flavored enough.

Preheat a skillet on medium heat (I use an electric grilled and turn it to 250 degrees).

Fold desired amount of sprinkles into batter.

Pour batter in 1/4 cup measurements onto skillet and let cook until bubbles form on top, about 2-3 minutes.

Flip and cook for 1 minute more.

Want to see something on my blog?  Dying to share your own take on my recipes?  Have any comments, critiques  compliments, or concerns?  Send in your feedback by commenting below!

Geek Fact of the Day:

Sprinkles are 100% proven to make anyone’s day even better (source: my life).

Don’t forget to just be you!

-Alli

Leave a Reply

